Sarum Annual Dinner 2019

Forget the Oscars, Sarum’s annual glittering dinner and celebration of achievement and contribution was the event of the month. Over 40 Sarum members, including a good contingent of juniors, gathered at Wellow Golf Club for the occasion. After a lovely meal created and served by Chef Mike and his team attention turned to the annual awards presentations.

The Martin Cochrane award, which celebrates the life and contributions to Sarum of a man who always gave willingly of his time to help at any club event, was awarded this year to Dan and Sharon Gallagher. As organiser of last year’s Caddihoe Chase Dan, together with Sharon, did much to enhance the reputation of Sarum as a friendly but well organised outfit. They also worked hard with bringing together the Sarum team that achieved notable success in winning the local Compass Sport Trophy heat.

Other awards presented by the Chairman included the 2017 Sarum Women’s Champion trophy to Hazel Cutler, the Pam Errington Trophy and gold medal for best junior to Benjamin Jacobs with Silver medals going to Toby Halsey and Dan Robertson.

Club Statistician Joan Hambleton then presented the awards for the 2017/18 Club Galoppen. Lucy Butt retained the Ron Ley Trophy she won in the previous season. Certificates were presented to the top five senior ladies (Lucy Butt, Jackie Butt, Charlotte Thornton, Joan Hambleton and Polly Jacobs), top senior men (Paul Lane, Peter Hambleton, Dan Gallagher, Rob Ashton and Dan Cope) with Elara Jacobs the best junior.

A new feature this year was the presentation of the Dans, in place of the Rickys, special awards to thank those who have helped the club in some special way. Dan Cope then entertained everyone with a video of his, alleged, dynamic run home to collect the forgotten trophies. This was strangely paralleled by Windie having to dash back home to pick up the Martin Cochrane Trophy which he really had forgotten.

The full list of Dan winners is:

  1. Ricky & Charlotte Thornton – Original Trophy Makers
  2. The Jacobs Family – Orienteering Family of The Year
  3. Mary McCormack – Budding Coach Award
  4. Peter Hambleton – Maintenance Man and Journalist
  5. Joan Hambleton – Galoppen Statistician
  6. Alan Yeadon – Mr Reliable
  7. John Hope – Mr Dependable
  8. Charlotte Thornton – Fisherman’s Friend
  9. Dave & Denise Mullins – King & Queen of Fonthill
  10. Andy Graham – Enthusiastic Newby
  11. Dan Cope – Innovator

Everyone joined in wishing Freda a happy birthday after Dan Cope had cunningly engineered a public revelation of the celebration.

Thanks must go, as ever, to Pat Hart for her hard work in making the occasion happen.

Enjoy the photos from the evening.   As there are too many to fit into this report a full Gallery can be seen here. Please feel free to copy any images you wish.